[Nameplate] Fair ~ 44°F  
High: 59°F ~ Low: 39°F
Friday, Nov. 28, 2014

January Events in Advance

Posted Saturday, January 30, 2010, at 6:16 PM

(Photo)
This photo from January 29, 2009 is a reminder of how much snow this region can get in January and February. On Jan. 27, 2009, residents watched helplessly as 5 inches of solid ice was followed by three or more inches of snow.
Tuesday, Jan. 5...7 p.m....Advance Community Library Board of Trustees meeting

Tuesday, Jan 5....9 a.m.... Census Test...Advance Senior Community Center

Tuesday, Jan 5....6 p.m....Girl Scouts...Advance Senior Community Center

Thursday, Jan. 7..6 p.m....Advance Senior Community Center Board Meeting (cancelled due to snow and cold temperatures.)

Friday, Jan. 8...Senior Center meal cancelled because of weather (Call City Hall if in doubt about whether center will be open. The center is closed when R-4 schools are not in session because of inclimate weather.)

Thursday, Jan 7....Advance R-4 Schools closed.

Friday, Jan. 8.....Advance R-4 schools closed.

Tuesday, Jan. 12..6 p.m...rescheduled Senior Community Center meeting (depending on weather)

Thursday, Jan. 14...7 p.m....Advance R-4 School Board meeting in Administrative Office

Monday, Jan. 18....6 p.m....Advance Board of Alderman meeting in City Hall, Gabriel St.

MONDAY, JAN. 18....OFFICES OF NORTH STODDARD COUNTIAN CLOSED

Thursday, Jan. 21...North Stoddard Countian comes out a day later than usual, because of Martin Luther King Day.

Monday, Jan. 25....6:30 p.m.....Stoddard County Historical Society Meeting...Stars & Stripes Museum, Bloomfield.

FRIDAY, JAN. 29....ADVANCE SENIOR COMMUNITY CENTER MEAL CANCELLED DUE TO STIFF 20-DEGREE WINDS AND SNOW!

Advance schools are out on Friday, Jan. 29, as well.

Residents might check their churches before they head out Sunday, Feb. 1, as some are closing because of snow and single-digit temperatures. The Advance United Methodist Church will not be having church on Sunday.



Respond to this blog

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.

Username:

Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.


Advance Extra! is a local blog that will be used to post local news or tidbits that for either space or time constraints might not have made the print edition of the newspaper. Check back regularly to see what's coming!
Hot topics
September slips by
(0 ~ 5:58 PM, Sep 26)

August moments in Advance
(1 ~ 2:21 PM, Jul 26)

July is jumping!
(1 ~ 4:02 PM, Jul 14)

June in Advance
(0 ~ 4:43 PM, Jun 14)

April Events in Advance
(2 ~ 9:52 AM, May 15)