[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 50°F  
High: 51°F ~ Low: 44°F
Monday, Jan. 23, 2017
The former Daily Statesman is now The Dexter Statesman and currently does not have an operating website.

Rules set for GOP 8th District nominee voting

Sunday, January 6, 2013


SEMO News Service

A rules committee has determined how the Republican 8th District Congressional Committee's will pick its nominee for the election to replace Rep. Jo Ann Emerson.

The rules committee is made up five members of the Republican 8th Congressional Committee. They include Bob Green (Texas County), Jeff Shawan (Butler County), David Courtway (Jefferson County), Mary Stubblefield (Crawford County) and Wayne Bowen (Cape Girardeau County).

"These rules are being released ahead of time in order to make sure that our meeting runs smoothly and is fair and transparent," said Eddy Justice of Poplar Bluff, Mo., chairman of the Republican congressional district committee.

"The date and time of the meeting are not set yet because the seat is not officially vacant and the Secretary of State's Office has not officially notified me, as is required under Missouri Revised Statue 115.369," Justice said. "Once that notification is received, the committee will be notified of the official time and place of the nomination meeting."

Justice said Friday the vote will take place in a meeting that will be open to the public, and emphasized his commitment to keeping the process transparent.

U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson has announced her resignation, but has not set the date for vacating the office. Justice listed the following proposed rules:

* Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised 11th Edition, will govern the meeting unless they are in conflict with the Rules of Missouri Revised Statutes or the rules agreed to by the committee. All decisions by the parliamentarian are final.

* Eligible voters for the nomination meeting include the duly elected chair and vice chair of each county Republican committee, and the chair and vice chair of each Republican legislative committee located in whole or in part in the 8th Congressional District. Each position listed has a vote to cast if the person holding that position is present.

* Nominations of a candidate may not exceed 1 minute. No second will be necessary and an individual committee member may only nominate one candidate. After the floor has been closed to nominations, each candidate, in the order they were nominated, will be allowed to address the committee for up to 3 minutes.

* After a vote is taken, if no candidate has received the Missouri Revised Statute required 50 percent-plus-one-vote minimum needed to receive the nomination, the candidate receiving the fewest number of votes will be eliminated from the nomination process and a new vote will be taken. If there is a tie between two or more candidates for the fewest votes received, and that tie is two votes or less per candidate, all of those tying candidates are eliminated from consideration. If the total vote for each candidate tied is 3 votes or more, a new election will be held without a candidate having been eliminated. Any candidate that gets no votes during any elections will be eliminated in addition to the candidate that receives the fewest votes. After a vote has been taken, and if no candidate has received the required majority, any current candidate or committee member may request that the body stand at ease for up to 5 minutes. If no request is made, then the meeting will proceed.

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2017 Dexter Daily Statesman · Dexter, Missouri