[Nameplate] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 51°F ~ Low: 46°F
Monday, Jan. 23, 2017
The former Daily Statesman is now The Dexter Statesman and currently does not have an operating website.

Filings slim with 2 days left

Sunday, January 13, 2013

Filings are still moving slowly for the upcoming April 2, 2013, municipal elections.

With the last day to file 48 hours away, time is running out for individuals who think they might be interested in pursuing an elected office.

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2012, was the official opening day for candidates to file for the April 2, 2013 municipal election. Candidates may file for office until Tuesday, Jan. 15.

The last day a resident may register to vote is March 6, 2013, if they wish to vote in the election.

Numerous city and school board offices are up for grabs this year, but little word has been given yet as to who plans to seek (re)election.

Following is a list of the filings updated through noon, Friday, Jan. 11:

* Advance

Mayor: No one has filed.

Ward 1 Alderman: No one has filed.

Ward 2 Alderman:

Tom Schmidt

* Bell City


Howard Pikey (I)

Jerry "Hoppy" Elem

Ward 1 Alderman:

Teresa Steiner (I)

Ward 2 Alderman:

Dorothy Burton (I)

Phyllis Elem

* Bernie

Ward 1 Alderman:

Todd Young (I)

Ward 2 Alderman:

Tim Gage (I)

Ward 3 Alderman (two-year term):

Ivan Mekan (I)

Ward 3 Alderman (one-year term):

Barry Zimmerman

* Bloomfield


Bill Pry

Randy Supancic

Scott Staggs

North Ward Alderman (two-year term):

Kim Johnson

North Ward Alderman (one-year term):

Pat Wilson

I.J. Schatz

South Ward Alderman (two-year term):

Tonya Roper


Ruth McGee (I)

* Dexter

Ward 1 Alderman:

Terry Battles (I)

Ward 2 Alderman:

Tim Aslin (I)

Ward 3 Alderman:

Kirby Taylor (I)

Jeff Dudley

* Dudley - could not be reached


Ward 1 Alderman:

Ward 2 Alderman:

* Essex

Mayor: No one has filed.

Ward 1 Alderman: No one has filed.

Ward 2 Alderman: No one has filed.

* Puxico


Rickey McLean

Michelle R. Walker

Ward 1 Alderman:

G. S. Kilbreth

Ward 2 Alderman:

Joe Dunivan (I)

Bill Hemby


Patty Cooper (I)

Municipal Judge:

David DeVaughn (I)


* Advance R-4 School Board

David Kennedy (I)

Tom Schmidt

Hiram Jones (I)

Dan Seger (I)

* Bell City R-2 School Board

Benjamin Abner

* Bernie R-13 School Board

Zack Tanner

David Mayberry

* Bloomfield R-14 School Board

Don Lafferty (I)

Dave Cooper (I)

* Dexter R-11 School Board

Herman Morse (I)

Nancy Mayer (I)

* Puxico R-8 School Board

Patty McLean (I)

Doug Modglin

Allen Clark

* Richland R-1 School Board

David DeJournett (I)

Kevin McClung

Mark Miller

Jason Blunt

Kyle Mitchell

Hollie Wheeler Hughes

Township and Special Road District seats are also up for election throughout the county.

Regular updates regarding the upcoming April 2013 municipal elections will appear in future editions of The Daily Statesman as information is received.

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2017 Dexter Daily Statesman · Dexter, Missouri